Breaking the Ice

Breaking into the Publishing world is probably the hardest part for new writers.  If you’ve never been published than you’ve never been heard so publishers don’t know if your good or not, but then you can’t be heard unless you get published.  It this endless loop of frustration for us want-a-be authors.  I’ve spent endless month thinking about how I can make a name for myself so when I finish my novel than I will be able to get it published by one of the big five, but I haven’t come up with any solutions.  Until now.

Back in January I heard about NULC, the National Undergraduate Literary Conference, held at Weber State in Utah.  With the submission deadline coming up I decided to submit a piece I had previously written.  Shamefully, I must admit that I really didn’t read the guidelines very carefully or anything about it at all really;  I just submitted my piece for the heck of it.  The least they could do was reject me and I wouldn’t get in, which is exactly what would happen if I didn’t even apply.

Well, I promptly forgot about it and the whole conference all together until I received an email congratulating me on my acceptance.  To say I bouncing off the walls in excitement would be an understatement.

I feel like it’s the ice breaker I’ve been looking for.  Shortly after my acceptance into NULC I received an email from a new literary magazine called JuxtaProse, inviting me, based on my acceptance to NULC, to submit my piece to them for publication, which I did today.

Hopefully this is just the beginning and has just opened the door to the wonderful world of publishing.

Leave a Reply

